The Peabody Drakes


In 2011, Ant put together a backing band to support his songs, the Peabody Drakes. The line-up over the years has changed a bit and currently includes James Stallwood (clarinet & vocals), Alex Pearson (double bass & vocals), Anneka Johnson (drums), Paul Dix (violin) and Christopher Webb (guitar & vocals).

Dan Ashby (banjo) and Rob Vasey (guitar) are also current musical accomplices. Past members and backing musicians have included: Peter Wilk (accordion & organ), Sophie Barford (piano), Dom Schlienger (double bass, viola & trombone, co-producer and engineer of Hurricane Rising), Daisy Palmer (drums), Liam Kirby (banjo & slide guitar), Graham Reynolds (trumpet), Ollie McCullough (guitar), Laura Smith (vocals), Eve Weatherill (violin) and Maike Gotthardt (clarinet).

2011 also saw the beginnings of what had become something of a yearly tradition: The Peabody Choir! To accompany the Drakes during performances at the Bristol Harbour Festival in 2011, 2012 and 2013, Ant put together a choir of local musicians and friends. The result was a riveting spectacle and a huge sound, enjoyed by both perfomers and audiences alike!